Caxton Greater Joburg on top!

Samantha Richardson, Get It Joburg North magazine editor.

The 2016 Caxton Excellence Awards was a night to remember.

Classifieds sales consultants Lianne West and Megan Lennox.

With entertainment by comedic genius Dr Riaad Moosa and local Converse, Get Out of the Garage, competition 2012 competition winner Matthew Mole, the night will not soon be forgotten by select Caxtonites who were finalists in over 30 categories.

Craighall Park branch editor Megan Tyack and Greater Joburg North chief subeditor Janese Glasscoe.

Steampunk decor and dress at the Globe at Silverstar Casino took guests into a retro-futuristic world.

Caxton Local Media has over 130 local newspapers countrywide with 72 title websites and more than 10 Get It magazines.

All were represented at this year’s awards but, as we know, there can only be one winner.

Caxton Greater Joburg North editors, Aimee McGill (Weltevreden Park branch) and Megan Tyack (Craighall Park branch).

The Caxton Greater Joburg North branch, home of Get It Joburg North magazine and 11 local newspapers and title websites, came out on top at the awards with three wins and four nominations.

Kyle Marais and Sipho Matshazi.

The branch’s Talita Jacobs, Nooraan Khan and Kyle Marais won Best Written and Designer Small Advertisement and Kate Argo, Dan Ashwin, Eleen du Buisson, Norman Dawe, Michelle Vahl and Kym Argo won Best Non-editorial Advertisement Feature in print and/or digital.

Subeditor Ingrid Pepler and Weltevreden Park branch editor Aimee McGill.


Our Joburg North Get It won Best Get It Magazine with editor Samantha Richardson taking home the award.

Kate Argo and Dan Ashwin.

Greater Joburg North branch were in the top three finalists for Best Front Page of the Year with Northcliff/Melville Times, and Best Free Newspaper of the Year for Randburg Sun, under the editorship of Aimee McGill.

Nooraan Kahn and Kyle Marais win the award for the best written and designed small-sized advert.

Alex News, edited by Megan Tyack was nominated for Emerging Market Newspaper of the Year. And Ashtyn Mackenzie, Randburg Sun journalist, was nominated for Best Contribution to the Citizen, Caxton’s daily newspaper.

Nooraan Kahn and Kyle Marais win the award for the best written and designed small-sized advert.


Joburg North Classifieds sales manager Cathy van Heerden, branch manager Norman Dawe and Giles Thomas from Highway Mail.



Ashtyn Mackenzie, Randburg Sun journalist.



For breaking and community news, visit Johannesburg North West’s websites:

Randburg Sun

Northcliff Melville Times 

Roodepoort Northsider



Chantelle Fourie

Latest News

Next Story x
Healthy Friday: 5 evidence-based health benefits of grapefruit