De Kock bowls them over with six awards

Photo: Lee Warren/Gallo Images Quinton de Kock took six trophies home after the Cricket South Africa Awards 2017 at the Theatre on the Track in Kyalami.


The Cricket South Africa Awards evening had a classic South African feel to it as guests walked the red carpet at the Theatre on the Track in Kyalami on 13 May to honour our local cricket stars.

Quinton de Kock stole the show with his amazing performance this year. He was named South African Cricketer of the Year, Test Cricketer of the Year, and ODI Cricketer of the Year.

Suné Luus receives the Woman’s Cricketer of the Year award.

He also received the award for South African Fans’ Player of the Year and the South African Players’ Player of the Year.

One of the highlights of the evening was the applause for Suné Luus who was named Momentum Women’s Cricketer of the Year, Lizelle Lee, the Women’s Players’ Player of the Year, and Laura Wolvaardt, the Women’s Newcomer of the Year. Luus said they were now looking forward to the next World Cup.

The Mzansi choir wowed the crowd and the night ended with a festive after-party and magnificent food.

The rest of the awards:

  • Standard Bank T20 International Cricketer of the Year: Imran Tahir
  • KFC Award of Excellence: Temba Bavuma
  • The Ram Delivery of the Year: Kagiso Rabada,
  • International Newcomer of the Year: Keshav Maharaj
  • Sunfoil Series Cricketer of the Season: Duanne Olivier
  • Momentum One-Day Cup Cricketer of the Season: Henry Davids
  • CSA T20 Challenge Player of the Season: Farhaan Behardien
  • Pitchvision Coach of the Year: Mark Boucher
  • Domestic Players’ Player of the Season: Colin Ackermann
  • Domestic Newcomer of the Year: Aiden Markram
  • Africa T20 Cup Player of the Tournament: Patrick Kruger
  • SACA Most Valuable Player Award: Colin Ackermann.

Become a member of our WhatsApp community by sending your name and surname to 079 439 5345. 


Marnelle Greyling

Latest News

Next Story x
Mashaba wants to fix the billing ‘crisis’